The dark side of co-habitation: part one in a series

1 Oct

I’ve long been the person that would say “let’s just get apartments in the same building” regarding living with a mate.

In theory, it’s the perfect scenario. Separate living quarters for the alone time we all crave, with the convenience of living with in steps on your loved one. Seriously, talk me out of that one. Talk about guaranteeing  the longevity of a relationship.

image courtesy of http://essenceoflifechronicles.comYou add a baby to that equation, and suddenly my bright idea makes for a dysfunctional family waiting to happen. So fine. The boyfriend and I embarked on the Great Apartment Search of 2010.

Holy shitballs, Scoundrels. It’s one thing to search for a place on your own, but it’s a whole different animal to consider the needs, desires and whims of another.

I mean really. Who needs a dishwasher and AC? My fancy pants boyfriend, that’s who.

We finally found a place. After over a month of looking. Note: I’ve gone out looking on a Saturday morning and signed a lease by that same evening. The drama, stress and toll it takes on a person to search Craigslist on the daily for a flipping apartment is something that no one should bear. Especially for a month.

I have discovered that Craigslist is really only good for the Missed Connections listings and PNP (if you’re into that). Otherwise, it’s a cesspool of half truths and misleading location listings. GLENDALE IS NOT CHERRY CREEK, Craigslist. Glendale is a bed bug infested shithole.

In the end, I will say that we did find a great place, in our budget, with AC and a dishwasher and in the neighborhood I wanted. Plus, it’s 1,100 glorious square feet of newly remodeled (read no bed bugs) urban comfort. *sigh of relief*

I know I’m difficult. And as this series progresses, I’ll reveal more about how hard I am to live with.

For today, Scoundrels, tell me. Tell me your apartment hunting with a mate horror stories. Or tell me about how you breezed through the process and happily found the perfect place with no stress.

Although, I may put bodily injury to you up on a vision board if you come to me with that shit. Just sayin’.

9 Responses to “The dark side of co-habitation: part one in a series”

  1. enyabiznass October 1, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    I do not believe in cohabitation for a number of reasons. Probably mostly because it’s scary. And I’m sure someone staying at your place 20 out of 21 nights does not count as cohabitation, right?

    I still think you’re going to thank the gods for the dishwasher. And the laundry hookups. Those tiny cute poop machines sure make a big mess at both ends.

    Super happy you found a kick ass place. :) And it’s near the frozen custard joint…

    • Sport October 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      Mmmm custard.

  2. ifUseekAmy October 1, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    The first two paragraphs of this post is EXACTLY how I feel. I live alone and have for the past 13 years (more or less). At this point, I almost can’t even imagine living with another person. I’m currently single, but even when I was in relationships, I didn’t really have the desire to live with the person. And too many nights in a row spent at his place or my place left me wanting my space. I guess it doesn’t bode well for me in the future. But I suppose when I find *the right one* for me, my mind will change :)

    • Sport October 1, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      I think it does when you find *the right one* It just seems easier to give up some free time and to agree to things like what new couch I get to put in the living room, cause he is on the way out.

      We really struggled to see eye to eye in finding a place and hopefully it’s going to get easier actually living together. Or I’ll be here bitching about him on the regular.

  3. Lady Crush October 1, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Broy toy and I had to pick out a place based solely on online listings in a place we’d never been, all the way across the country. Also, we didn’t live together before we moved. Holy life changes, batman!

    I think we lucked out on not ending up in a shady shithole, but living in the suburbs is still kind of a drag. Sometimes I miss my awesome bachelorette pad, but overall Broy’s a good roommate. He cooks a lot, but he also farts a lot. Give and take. Give and take.

    • Sport October 1, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      I’m the one with the heinous ass gas these days. le sigh.

  4. wittywife October 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    1100 sf? I’m jealous.

    We’re city dwellers (east coast), with two kids (one with us part-time) and we’ve got juuuust around 1000. The layout could be better, too.

    We almost moved to the ‘burbs, twice. But I cried and had meltdowns both times. We live RIGHT next to our local MLB baseball park. We’re huge baseball fans. I would really cry if we were gone!

    I love walking to the open air market on the weekends, going to see landmarks and museums, etc. What the heck would I do in the ‘burbs???

    • Sport October 1, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      No, I agree! The ‘burbs are NOT for me. I flat out told him that if he wanted to live in the suburbs then he could come and visit the baby as much as he wanted, but he would be living alone.

      I feel really strongly about staying in the city and exposing baby to life full of diversity and a variety of experiences. We can visit grandpa to get a taste of the suburbs. :)

  5. MsSparrow October 6, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    I live with my love in a huge house with 3 other people and we both have our own bedrooms. That honestly was one of the only reasons I was okay with moving into the house not only with him but with all the other people. I can escape to his lair downstairs or I can have solitude in my own space upstairs. It has worked out spectacularly. I love being able to spend time with him and then bug off to my own room.

Leave a comment