Hey idiot, the way you use Facebook is going to get you fired

4 Oct

We all have at least one in our friends list. The one that shares all the wrong stuff on Facebook and leaves us with no option other than to cringe in horror and gawk at the train wreck.

The thing is, so much of what people share on Facebook is for attention. It’s a narcissistic way of saying “hey world, look how important I am. Look what I have to say.”

Only, most of these things that people have to say are fleeting thoughts without much weight given to the consequences of broadcasting them to the world via the interwebs. So people say a lot of stupid stuff.

Case in point, we’ll call him Chester.

Chester posted on Facebook something along the lines of: “Damn. My favorite part of my job just got eliminated.”

While that seems harmless and vague enough, it was just the opposite. You see, Chester just so happens to be “friends” with the IT manager at his job. And several co-workers. And his community contacts. Many of whom commented on his post. And one co-worker sent an email to his boss alerting them to the status update that Chester made.

*facepalm*

So Scoundrels, maybe you’re not the guilty one, maybe you are. What on Facebook is is gonna get someone fired? Share with us all the oversharing in your feed!

11 Responses to “Hey idiot, the way you use Facebook is going to get you fired”

  1. dulcedementia October 4, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Event before the advent of social media, I was a classic oversharer. I try to use each form of media in different ways and remain cognizant of who I am friends with/follows me. On Facebook, I try to keep my swearing to an “acceptable” level (drop the F bomb maybe once or twice a week), while I write a little more freely and often on Twitter.

    Either way, of course, work inevitably makes it into posts since it’s part of my day, but I try not to make it about people. Usually it’s about software or the bathroom, honestly.

    HOwever, just because I work with people who are friends with me on social media does not mean I’m going ot change my voice online. It is who I am. Sometimes I’m crass, sometimes I’m sweet, sometimes I’m sad.

    If you don’t like my updates, hide me or unfriend me. Easy.

  2. theVar October 4, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    I find this topic interesting, because if you follow me on Facebook or Twitter or both, you know that I have no filter. I don’t really discuss work, but I’ll sure as hell throw every other random thought in my head out there for you to bite down on.

    For me, people that get themselves into pickles over social media lack social skills in general. These are the people oblivious to the corporate, or not so corporate (in some cases), environments in which they work. You damn well know whether something will piss your boss off or not. Oh, and don’t get me started on the companies that look into peoples social lives to determine whether they will hire them. Hey, asshat companies, just because someone likes being fucking social doesn’t mean they won’t be the greatest asset you’ve ever hired. Guess what. They are probably better than you at your job. Think about it!

  3. Serena October 4, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Well, that was so ridiculously vague that I have no idea why that comment would have gotten him fired.

    Was the “favorite part” a coworker or something?? Otherwise, this example really makes no sense.

    • theVar October 4, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

      Serena, in an “at will” state, something as vague as that could be grounds for termination. An employer might very well still consider that a negative statement about your work environment.

  4. Just Jane October 4, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    I don’t post about work. Period. But I also discovered some of my fabulous friends were also not able to distinguish between what was appropriate to post on my wall and what was oh-so-not work appropriate (but funny as hell!). So I did the only smart thing I could do…I locked down my profile to the barest minimum – even for some of the folks on my FL.

  5. Ken October 5, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    That’s just one problematic pattern, of many, with Facebook and social networking. There are a million things you’d share with friends in a bar, but not coworkers at lunch, or with a sibling, but not a parent. Nevermind that you’re sharing all of this information not just with friends, but advertisers and whomever else Facebook decides to share it with.

    If everything you say is with the expectation that anyone could listen, all you’re doing is being your own PR person, 24/7. It defeats the “social” part of the network and turns your online presence into nothing more than a managed presentation of who you want to be to the world, for the rest of your life.

    They used to say on the Internet, no one knows you’re a dog. Now the problem is that because of the Internet, EVERYone knows you’re a dog.

  6. MsSparrow October 6, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    I do not friend any of my coworkers on my FB page and actually most of them are blocked. I also have my profile set to private so unless you are friends with me you cannot see pretty much anything I post. Facebook for me is a tool to keep up with friends and to post pictures of LOL cats not to be used as a networking tool for work.

  7. P.S. Jones @The Bitch Blog October 6, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I think that this kind of thing only happens when you mistake coworkers and bosses for “friends.” (Just like I think someone stalking you and murdering you based on your FourSquare check-ins only happens when you mistake your serial killer ex-boyfriend for someone who needs to know your whereabouts.) I’m lucky in many ways because I’m self employed but I still keep FB for people who know me well enough that I could confide personal tidbits of my life with them. Not a client or colleague. And if you’re one of those people who absolutely have to “friend” everybody, you should probably check out the lists features on FB.

    For example, I am “friends” with my seventh grade math teacher who influenced my life so much I couldn’t turn down the request. (Besides, I was flattered he even remembered me 15 years later enough to request me and still gushed about me.) Anyway, my status updates are set to exclude him because he doesn’t need to hear about the street fight I got into with a blind homeless man.

    • TheBoo October 25, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      I wish I could ‘like’ this comment. LOL

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Chester Update « Talk Thirty To Me - October 8, 2010

    […] Scoundrels, as you may remember we brought you the story of Chester and how we thought his use of Facebook was going to get him fired. […]

  2. This Week in Bitchery (10/9/10) | The Bitch Blog - October 16, 2010

    […] Talk Thirty to Me takes on oversharers Hey idiot, the way you use Facebook is going to get you fired. […]

Leave a Reply

