Best life vs. well, life

8 Feb

Mike just farted.

We’re waiting for me to have to poop again so we can collect a *shudder* sample.

One of the cats has a broken tail from me shutting it “sorta accidentally” in the door and the other cat keeps flooding the apartment.

We actually went and tried on Baby Bjorns this past weekend.

This is life as we know it.  After reading Jaime’s post yesterday, it sparked a thought in my mind about how we reconcile that notion of living our best life with the reality of everyday life.

I'mma flood dis' bitch

Although I am so happy and satisfied in so many aspects of my life, there are still things I want for myself and my family. For one, I’d like a job where my ideas are valued and the work and awards and all that crap that you put in year after year is not viewed as worthless to the boss.

I want to go to Paris.

I want to marry that man dropping ass bombs in the other room, ’cause you know, I love him and want to make sure he is completely trapped.

Ha! That’s what the baby is for.  LOLZ!

I want everyday to be filled with some adventure and some courage.

I want to eat my vegetables again and enjoy them. I really want that.

And I must admit, there are times when all those things I want just seem like they’re never going to happen because you know, I have to collect that sample, or the baby is going to want a drum kit, or the GD cat is going to flood the apartment again.

Those small real life episodes make seeing Paris in my best life feel like an intangible fantasy. I mean seriously, nothing feels further from the glamour of Paris than having faucet butt and assplosions. Nothing.

All of this is not to say that I’m not happy with all that I already have.  It’s just that as humans, we always want a little more, right? We want to accomplish something else, see one more thing, have just one more amazing experience.  It’s not to say that one is ungrateful for all the badassery already in their life, it’s just that well, I just want a little more too.

I feel like my question for you Scoundrels is all of that. How do you make your everyday-so-not-the-best-of-some-stuff, your best life? And at what point do you say that maybe good enough is the best?

7 Responses to “Best life vs. well, life”

  1. enyabiznass February 8, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    I want to go to Paris too.

  2. Erika Napoletano February 8, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Having just returned from a five-week road trip where I existed “elsewhere,” I’ve got more questions than answers. I know what makes me happy, but where I can live that path is up in the air. At my core, it’s not about things, money or real estate. It’s just about love. In all its forms. It’s what wakes me up, makes me smile and brings me the greatest gifts. It’s all the bullshit between waking up and love that seems to be causing the issues of living my “best life.” So I said fuck it and made a huge pot of delicious cabbage soup (with bacon).

  3. kia February 8, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Assplosions ruin any idea of an idealized life and that is a fact. I say be grounded where you are, from there think where you want to go and from that grounding work on those baby steps to get there. I’m an annoying Buddhist though so what do I know.

  4. lisa nelson February 8, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I often think that I have higher expectations than most folks in this life…and wonder why I can’t be satisfied with a 9-5 and just raising the kiddo. We all get frustrated with the day to day stuff but we that doesn’t mean we should settle. You can enjoy and love every day life, but it’s good to want more, demand more. Find the thing that fills your bucket…

  5. jersey February 15, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Eh. Paris isn’t all its cracked up to be anyway. Seriously.

  6. Jamey Burrell February 23, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    I think the problem with doing that ‘one more’ thing, is that when you do it, you never feel as fully satisfied as you had conjured up in your fantasy. Recently, for me, that one more thing was to move somewhere new. At first, it was life changing. Everything was so fresh, so unexplored, and I was able to use that to also explore places within me that had remained hidden. But flash forward 6 months, and I’m back to where I was before I moved, wondering what I need to do next to fulfill that eroding void in my happiness. I think the most important thing is to find happiness (hark, so profound and so much easier said than done) in the daily routine, but also plan those ‘one more’ things on our journey. Don’t make them side trips from our path in life but rather stopping points along our ever winding road. For instance, if you want to go sky diving, you can’t just go sky diving one day and expect that 1 experience to gird you for the remainder of the year. Instead, get friends and family excited about sky diving or find some new friends that will be, and make sky diving a larger experience that continues beyond the act itself. At least that’s what I’m starting to understand about this crazy thing called life….

    Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Best life vs. well, life « Talk Thirty To Me -- Topsy.com - February 8, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jim Brochowski, Talk Thirty To Me. Talk Thirty To Me said: How do you make your…life, your best life?http://ow.ly/3SyaA […]

Leave a Reply

