#reverb10 unpaused

28 Dec

We’d mentioned that at the beginning of December #reverb10 was starting. After a few participating posts, we kinda slacked off. Now we’re back in full effect. We hope you’re participating, and if not, consider this your chance to start. You won’t regret it. After reading our responses, feel free to leave your responses to any or all of the prompts in the comments. We’d love to hear your take on #reverb10.

December 28th Prompt–Achieve: What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today.

Next year I’d like to achieve the feeling of Accomplishment. In my 31 years, I’ve constantly felt like I was on the verge of being where I want to be in life—love, career, spiritually, etc. To reach that feeling would make me happier than a pig in slop.

10 things I can do to experience that today: Be still. Love all (even the little things). Stay open and honest. Embrace fear. Relax. Listen. Ask. Be kind. Be generous. Be thankful. -theVar

December 27th Prompt–Ordinary joy: Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year?

When I was a kid, my dad used to put apples and oranges in my stocking at Christmas. Christmas morning we’d roll them on the floor and peel and eat them. It’s by far my fondest memory of holidays. It didn’t cost much, it didn’t require a load of planning. It was just nice.

This year, Mike had put two oranges in my stocking for me to find. I nearly cried. What an unexpected and wonderful moment of joy to find that your partner is present. Of course I didn’t cry, because I’m not a pussy. And we haven’t rolled them on the floor yet. I’m pregnant, and getting down on the floor is a frickin’ moment of joy all onto itself. -Sport

December 26th Prompt–Soul Food: What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul?

Where do I begin? My mom’s in town and has cooked so much deliciousness that’s caused a flood of memories I’d been repressing for years. Got it—Banana Pudding. She put her foot in that one. One bite, and I was that scrawny, big head, dumbo-eared kid climbing trees and running through the yard barefoot. Shrouded by foliage and the smell of country, nothing could touch me. The world as I see it now never manifested. There was mom, dad, my big bro, and I in a land of wonderment. Ahhhh, those were the days. -theVar

December 24th Prompt–Everything’s Ok: What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

Sometimes things seem like they’re never going to get any better. I had a whole period earlier this year where I felt completely defeated. Not just that things weren’t going my way, but that life had bitch-slapped me into submission and I was ready to fly the white flag. Genuine stretches of despair.

But I think those moments that seem so dark in life shockingly juxtapose with moments of light. In fact, that darkness is necessary to see the possibility of light. One of the great moments of light for me this past year was when I laced up my roller skates to play roller derby with the Dublin Roller Girls. It was the first time in months that I remembered the delight of simply doing something that I loved.  Here I was in a foreign country with complete strangers skating around a track and finally feeling completely at home and comfortable in my own skin again. Things were okay. Everything was going to be okay. And all it took was a few laps to realize that.

As next year approaches, with all the challenges I have on the horizon, I’ll always remember those girls, my skates and that things will be fine after a couple laps. –Sport

image courtesy of http://www.reverb10.com

One Response to “#reverb10 unpaused”

  1. Cali @caligater December 28, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I’m so glad you unpaused your responses on TalkThirtytoMe. :)

    theVar: Your achieve list? Wonderful.
    Sport: “But I think those moments that seem so dark in life shockingly juxtapose with moments of light.” Preach, sister.

Leave a Reply

