HPDHP1 in your 30s: It’s not just a teenage concern anymore.

22 Nov

I’m not afraid to admit it; I have case of HPDHP1. There’s no itching or burning. No special cream or magic pill to quell the sensations. Essentially, I’m stuck with this shit. I’m a 30 (soon to be 31) year old man wrapping my mind around the idea that I have HPDHP1. Before you get to googling and researching to figure out what I’m talking about, let’s watch the trailer.

I know, I know. I’m behind, but there’s reason. I effing hate crowded movie theaters. Not only do they make me twitchy, they make me wanna pull out a switch blade, and well, you know the rest. Where was I? Right.

Now you see why this affliction is so bothersome. I find myself writing this post and researching todays times/places for the first viewing of the god damned movie. The Twitterverse and Facebookdom have been a worldwind of tweets and status updates all weekend about the awesomeage called HPDHP1. Yet, I had restraint. That is until today. Today I conquer. Today I grab my bucket of buttery popcorn and some non-chocolatey candy morsel and my oversized, make me have to pee a million times soda, and I’m going to watch this movie that has been haunting my dreams for 3 arduous days.

Many of you won’t get this, but there are just as many of you that have geeked out over the past weekend. So, let’s talk about this HPDHP1 pandemic. How do you feel about living with it in your 30s? How has it affected your interpersonal relationships? Is your significant other embarrassed to socialize with you right now? Are you both suffering from it? Oh, and the most important question of all for those who witnessed the big-screen incredibleness in full glory *angels singing in background while I’m shrouded in golden light*: How was it?

On that latter point, can you wait ’til after 10am to answer that? That’s when my movie starts. Kthanks! :)

7 Responses to “HPDHP1 in your 30s: It’s not just a teenage concern anymore.”

  1. Scott Folk November 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    You’re gonna love it….But I would really recommend seeing the first 6 before proceeding. I’m 27 and a huge HP fan…..It’s ok, you’re admitting the addiction….that’s the first step of recovery.

    • theVar November 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

      Scott, that is precisely what happened–I LOVED it. I own and have read all of the books. Such goodness.

  2. dulcedementia November 22, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Are you kidding?! I just saw it last night as a third date with a guy. We were the first in line for the movie and had our choice of any seat in the house. Do you know what we did while waiting to get into the theater? We talked about religious overtones in movies like Star Wars, the Matrix and Harry Potter. #nerdgasm

    Plus, the movie was unbelievable. It is seriously the best Potter movie to date. I want to go to there again. Actually maybe a few more times.

    • Scott Folk November 25, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      Sounds like an awesome date to me…You’re right, it’s the best movie by far…too bad they didn’t make them all this good.

  3. enyabiznass November 22, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    I still haven’t seen the sixth one, although I’ve read all the books multiple times. Luckily, I have an 18-year-old sister who is bringing all of the movies to the family cabin for Thanksgiving. She can also force my Hot Boyfriend to watch those movies. He’s only seen one and simply doesn’t understand the fascination. Yet…

    • theVar November 22, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      You tell your Hot Boyfriend to get with the program. He’s about to embark on the most magically epic Thanksgiving evah: Harry Potter movies, a cabin, and great company. Have fun, enyabiznass.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention HPDHP1 in your 30s: It’s not just a teenage concern anymore. « Talk Thirty To Me -- Topsy.com - November 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kevin Boulas, Talk Thirty To Me. Talk Thirty To Me said: HPDHP1 in your 30s: It's not just a teenage concern anymore.: http://ow.ly/3dFPB […]

Leave a Reply

