Get off your arse, and say hi!

12 Nov

I’m constantly told that I’m a social bird–a fact that I can’t deny. If there’s an event going on, I am there, or at least I’ll try to be there. Chances are on any given day, I’ve double or triple booked and will either hit all of the happenings or missed them all entirely. Look. A social bird needs nest time, too. I choose to embrace the social aspect of living. However, I know many that don’t and won’t and find socializing quite difficult. That’s a concept I don’t understand. It’s so easy to say hi to a stranger and strike up a conversation. Be like Nike and…

In a city like Denver, and so many others, there is always something going on, and not everything requires you to spend shit tons of cash. Take today for instance. I woke at 5:00am, drove 35 minutes to Boulder, Colorado (a gorgeous city nestled against a mountainous backdrop if you’ve never been), attended a FREE social media breakfast , had a heartier breakfast at a local eatery where I ate at a communal dining table, and now I’m writing you from a quaint coffee shop (the people are H.O.T.). It’s around noon, and I’ve had more varied social interaction than many people do in their entire day (including work). Granted, Sport pointed out to me that my journey is sponsored by freedom. I’m self-employed now, and the freedom that accompanies self-employment does come with perks. But remember, you don’t have to have that kind of freedom to have a healthy social life.

With the likes of Twitter and Facebook and too many other social networking sites to name, the sky is the limit when it comes to meeting people. I’m a bit jubilant, well a lot, but that’s besides the point. When it comes to life and socializing, I’m an ass-kicker and name-taker. I love the shit. Isn’t jubilant the word you used to describe me, Sport?

Sport: It is the word!

But Var, we both know that I’m pretty much the Yin to your Yang when it comes to being a social butterfly.  I’m shy, awkward and I say wildly inappropriate things in mixed company.  The world is better off for me being a homebody.

Seriously, I do find it incredibly difficult to strike up a conversation with a stranger. Unless I’m trying to bang him, and then really, what is there to talk about?

I feel that in some ways I’m limiting myself, but the older I get, the more I’m comfortable in who I am and who I’m not.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go Tweet some stuff to strangers about pooping. (Wait. Do fake people on Twitter count?)

If you are comfortable being a non-social person, then that’s your thing, and I’m barking up the wrong tree. If you’re looking to expand your social network and don’t know how, I’m challenging you. Take this weekend, find a cool coffee shop in your area, and strike up a conversation. You’ll be surprised where a hi-a-day will get you.

4 Responses to “Get off your arse, and say hi!”

  1. Dulce November 12, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I love this. So, I grew up a wall flower until I went to college and made the conscious decision NOT to be shy anymore and break out of my shell. And if you know me, you know I didn’t just break out of my shell, I liquefied it into magma.

    I’ve grown to become a lady with many friends and I can thank social media for a lot of it, but I’m also somewhat of a chameleon and I have numerous different groups of friends, depending on my interests.

    But when it comes down to it, I’m actually perfectly content being home a lone once or twice a week too. It’s why I chose to live without a roommate. When I come home, my time is my own and no one else’s.

    It’s all about finding balance for me.

    • theVar November 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

      Dulce, you’re right. You’re quite the chameleon and that’s why we love you. Being able to be social makes your life so much better. Wouldn’t you say?

  2. Just Jane November 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m an extrovert in an introvert’s body. I love being social, talking it up with strangers (ahem), and finding myself wherever the day takes me.

    However, I expend a lot of energy doing this and have to have down time in order to stay well – both emotionally and physically.

    Luckily, wine tastes just as good at home alone as it does at, say, Hooked on Colfax, for those nights (like tonight) when I’m replenishing my energy stores.

    • theVar November 15, 2010 at 9:16 am #

      Amen, sister. Wine is good regardless. In a box. In my socks. With no pants. At Hooked on Colfax.

      I think I’m very much like you, Just Jane. My hyper-social activity is contrary to this statement, but I’ve gotta say, I love being at home.

Leave a Reply

