Wanna go on a blind date?

10 Nov

Ha! Wanna go on a blind date? Shut up!

Wait. Are you serious? No seriously, are you serious? Is it because you feel sorry for me? You really do think I’m that pathetic and lonely. Okay, well, maybe that’s true, but dayum. What am I saying? I’m good. I’m good being single. A blind date? You understand this could go horribly awry, and I’m liable to UNFRIEND you if it does. Maybe I won’t unfriend you, but the trust factor will diminish! I’m talking there will be a lot of fancy dinners and bottles of wine before we are down like 4 flat tires again. Capisce!

Mind you, I know I shouldn’t turn down dates in my thirties–blind or not. I’m willing to admit the dating pool shrinks tremendously. There’s the lack of datable (is this even a word) guys in my industry. Oh, and the fact that I only go to bars that don’t cater to my persuasion. *wink, wink* Did I mention all the good ones are taken? Well, they are! I could go on and on  about the pit falls of dating in your thirties, but I won’t.

Instead, I’m going to focus on changing that and look at the blind dating game as a way to meet more exciting and interesting people. Not that the people I know aren’t exciting or interesting. I mean they are, but…I’m going to stop there before I dig myself a hole. All I’m saying is I welcome the opportunity to meet a strapping, young(ish?) lad. And in the meantime, I’m going to try not to think about some stranger stalking me, kidnapping my dog, and leaving Soda’s left ear hanging on my door knob just because the date was a disaster.  Yeppers, this is what runs across my mind when I think of blind dates. *shoulders shrug*

So, yeah, that’s that. How do you scoundrels feel about blind dates? Should I be afraid?

4 Responses to “Wanna go on a blind date?”

  1. enyabiznass November 10, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    I was going to try speed dating once, and I was super excited about only having to talk to people for 8 minutes. But the event was canceled, and I never tried again. I really should have because it sounds funny.

    I have been on blind dates that I did not realize was a blind dates until we were well into the “group” event and all of a sudden I was left alone with someone who was doing the equivalent of either batting his eyelashes at me or trying to get his hand up my shirt. Blind dates make for good stories, yo.

  2. TheBoo November 11, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Blind dates should all come with easy-out clauses, or safe words. If I use the word “inconspicuous” we both just stand up quietly, walk out the door, and never try to contact one another again.

  3. vaguelycool November 14, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Oh calm down Var. So I used the words “blind date” big deal. You gotsta kiss a lotta frogs before you find your prince and its unlikely any of your friends would hook you up with a Glen Close boil your bunny kind of freak. Shut it. And, look at the bright side…..chances are, the guy will be gay, so use that as a starting point – you’ll both have something in common. Hhaaaaaa ha.

    • theVar November 15, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      My friends can be suspect at time. Just kidding. What I’m not kidding about is that people think they know your taste, when in actuality, they don’t. They end of setting you up with someone they don’t even know that well. These friends, quite often, assume “Oh, he’s gay. So is Var. They’d be great together.” I know it happens. I’ve heard/seen it. People are batty when it comes to playing match-maker.

Leave a Reply

