The dark side of co-habitation: Part 3 Let there be light

4 Nov

Around 3am this morning, I was jolted out of my peaceful slumber by a flying elbow to my spine.  Immediately following my groans of dismay was a slurred apology and then quiet. I thought of all the awful things I could do back to him for about thirty seconds, and decided that I was too tired to execute any plan of revenge.

Sharing the bed is still a work in progress.

I'm sure you're a nice person, but we do not like your face.

But then I think of how he starts my coffee in the morning before he leaves for work. And how he sits through 90201 while theVar and I go on about how Naomi is too orthognathic for our standard of beauty.

Last night I was talking with @DustinVan (the sexiest man on Twitter) (*touches self*)  and he asked me how the co-habitation was going.

Now, I’m not going to pretend that I can recall the conversation exactly, but I’m pretty sure I said the words “domestic bliss” at some point. And I meant it. No, really.

I’ve picked a good match for shacking up. Mike doesn’t make that truck backing up beeping noise when I leave a room – despite the fact that I’ve packed on 14lbs in the last 3 months.  He DVRs hockey games so I don’t have to sit through that shit. He lets me pick on the cats. He poops in the designated pooping bathroom. He doesn’t get all bent out of shape when I make horny cat sounds at Anderson Cooper (meoooow! *presenting*) He lets me be a complete asshole when I get a question right on Jeopardy and everyone else misses it. How do you make it on to Jeopardy and not know what an elegy is? That’s just asking for a smug remark from Trebek. Another silver fox, by the way.

Above all else, every single day, I know that he loves me and Smokey.

So there it is, Scoundrels. Co-habitation is working out well so far. I expect it to continue going that way  as long as he poops in the proper bathroom.

7 Responses to “The dark side of co-habitation: Part 3 Let there be light”

  1. Dustinvan November 4, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I wish I had a designated pooping bathroom. That Thunderhorse is one lucky man.

    • Sport November 4, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      DVan! I tell Mike that every single day. Every, Single. Day.

  2. enyabiznass November 4, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Don’t forget that you were like 25 pounds underweight a few months ago. Just sayin’. I’m very happy that you’re very happy. :)

  3. KarenB November 4, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    I think you mentioned you were with child the other day? If you have to get up in the middle of the night to go to the BR, do NOT forget to check that the toilet seat is down. #justsayin Been there, done that. NO fun.:)

    • Sport November 4, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      Fell in the other night! But I will admit that it was because I leave the lights off and I lifted both the lid and the seat unknowingly. *sigh*

      • KarenB November 4, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

        Oops…The lights were off for me too…I was so big at 8 months I thought I was stuck….ah, the good old days :)

  4. vaguelycool November 4, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Good job. Stay appreciative. Hold strong on the poo bathroom. Still my TTTM lady hero.

Leave a Reply

