Couch Exchange 2010, Men’s Health, & Mea Culpa

18 Oct

“Gah! I’m pretty sure I just threw my back out. Yeah. Ugh!”

Yet, I continued to give all I had to make the Couch Exchange of 2010 a success. I would have my Mad Men-esque, hideaway sofa bed if it killed, and just as sure as shit stinks (prepare for dramatics) it almost did.

“Whoa, whoa. I have to put it down. I just fucked up my back bad.”

As much as I wanted to keep going and not seem like the wimpy queer that can’t do any strenuous activities without “chipping a nail”, I had to step back and let Thunder Horse and Papa Sport take over. Little did I know that defining moment would leave me with limited mobility for seven days. Count ’em, people, seven!

During the next week of back pain,  down time, and pain killers, I had to time to think about how my heath needs are starting to change in this new decade. I quickly took to the internets in an attempt to arm myself with pro tips for supercharging my turbo. For the record, ‘supercharging my turbo’ is not my term. That’s what Men’s Health said. I just thought it was cute, but whatever. While researching, 30s – What Changes & How to Fix it caught my eye, and let me tall ya, check, check, check, annnddd, check on Changes #1 – 4.

Since the 30th birthday, every one of these changes have started to kicked into overdrive. I’ve noticed it with each shower, each attempt to button my jeans, each glimpse of myself in the full body mirror. I once questioned how guys let themselves get a pot belly. I am now the guy with one.

I’m mister ha ha, say something funny, make them laugh, but this is something I am serious about. My CTA for you: arm yourself and get healthy. Oh, and I’m not good at this workout thing and could use a workout partner. (Ahem. Don’t everybody raise your hands at once.)

*smh* I’ve always been told to lift with my knees and not with my back. Noted. Duly noted!

Hmmm, you think this is enough of a mea culpa to get my mom off my back (no pun intended)?

3 Responses to “Couch Exchange 2010, Men’s Health, & Mea Culpa”

  1. Lady Crush October 18, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Var! I would love to go running with you on the weekends, if you’re free! I’m planning to hit Boulder this Saturday and do approx 5 miles on the Boulder Creek path. It’ll be a chatty run/walk, followed by mimosas and bacon. Yes? :)

    • Sport October 18, 2010 at 11:45 am #

      Um, I don’t know, you could both get a better work out helping poor preggo Sport move. #justsayin

      • Lady Crush October 18, 2010 at 11:57 am #

        Busted on my calendar fail. What time are you getting started? I might briefly entertain the idea of doing both activities. :)

Leave a Reply

