The dark side of co-habitation part 2: On cats, couches and sharing the covers

15 Oct

Life as I know it is about to change. In exactly one week, Mike and I sign a lease and move into our new place together.

Holy ish. *Cue panic attack.

I lurve Mike, so why panic? Well, it’s a big change from the unattached life to the land of co-habitation. I’m not really worried that we’ll have problems living together. Sure, there will be arguments and blow outs and even tender moments. It’s more that I’m losing my alone time. Where I can sit on my couch in my underwear and pluck my eyebrows while wearing a pore cleansing mask and munching on hummus and pita chips. All the while singing songs from RENT or Spring Awakening.

I can’t do that in front of Mike. Frowny face.

But we’re moving forward in our relationship, which means moving in together.  So there you have it.

 

image courtesy of frugalnfit.wordpress.com

 

I have found that anytime you decide to hitch your wagon to someone’s horse, it comes with – oh, let’s just call it baggage. And my dear boyfriend just so happens to come with two rather furry, and at times infuriating  pieces of baggage: cats.

For those of you who read my personal blog, you know I have a history with these cats. And the scars to prove it.  So the idea of living with these cats full-time is one that I’m not actually all that fond of. In my head I run a cost/benefit analysis. Mike comes with the cats, and I love him enough to put up with them.

There is a caveat. Me living with cats means a higher standard in keeping the living space cat hair free. And the most expensive part of that included new furniture.

In fact, that little caveat of mine is why we’ve been Var-less over here at TTTM this week.  You see, while moving our new couch, Var -who was so sweet to help us- threw his back out and has spent this week high as a kite on pain meds and muscle relaxants.

But I got my new couch.

The effects of the cat situation haven’t just impacted Mike and Var and myself. They’ve impacted the people I work with.  Since I’m easing into the cat situation, we’ve been staying at my apartment the last few weeks.  Well, again being a single girl, I only have a full size bed. Do not start with me about the size of my bed. Var and I have already covered the topic here.  Anyways, Mike tends to be a bit of a bed and covers hog.

Who am I kidding? That man, takes up more than half of that bed. Leaving next to no room for me and my bulging belly.

So I wake up several times a night cold from my covers being stolen and that makes for a cranky Sport the next day at work.

Those of you that live with your Sig O understand that this stuff is just how it goes. You sometimes have to lose sleep and those warm covers to have the person you love within snuggle distance. And you have to put up with cats or dogs or kids or whatever else to share a life with that person.

All that is worth it, because in the end, that person is worth it.

10 Responses to “The dark side of co-habitation part 2: On cats, couches and sharing the covers”

  1. Rick Ramos October 15, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    In my recent cohabitation I gained partial custody of a of a dog who is twice as stubborn and half as obedient as my dog. You are absolutely correct though. Taking the time to retrain this little mongrel is totally worth sharing my home with the woman I’m in love with.

    • Sport October 15, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      Ha ha. Good luck with that. I told Mike that the cats are going into training as soon as we all get settled. I’m currently investing in spray bottles and flyswatters.

      • enyabiznass October 15, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

        You might want to borrow Mr. Cuddles. He’s defeated Delicious before…

        • Sport October 15, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

          I think that’s a solid plan.

  2. theVar October 15, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Y’all (‘cept you, enyabiznass) have issues. Why would you trade in your autonomy and ‘me’ time to live with someone. The only time a live-in comes in handy is when you’re bedridden, like me, or need an extra pair of hands for something–mutual masturbation/sex (however you will), moving furniture, carrying the groceries inside (in the city, this is a pain), and…

    Yeah, that’s just about it. I say #boopussy to the rest.

    • Sport October 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

      But I love him so much. And he’s proven himself valuable in the furniture moving arena as well as grocery carrying. And considering he knocked me up, I’d say he’s got the sex thing down too. #boopussy on the cats!

      • enyabiznass October 16, 2010 at 10:07 am #

        Since I’m going through ripping apart the logic in a paper right now, I’m going to have to make a quick observation. Just because he got the sperm in the right place at the right time does not necessarily correlate to being good at making the process enjoyable. I will now go back to ruining someone else’s life. ;)

  3. DwayneD October 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Yeah I don’t know. Love is great… I just joined my co-habitating girlfriend’s gym and I can’t get myself to go, despite it being a block away from work because, well, I need some ‘not-at-work-not-at-home-with-someone-else’ time and that’s important. I think it’s imperative to try and find a place where you can have your own space – an office, a guest bedroom, something to let your mind not have to interact with anyone else’s.

    Then again, I was raised as an only child (and so was she).

    As for cat hair – they make a Roomba for that. I sorta want one of those hairless ones…

    • Sport October 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

      Mike plays hockey in a league once a week, so I’m hoping that it’ll serve as some alone time for us both. Or I’m going to start sending him out on ridiculous errands and start booking spa days. LivingSocial/ Groupon = holla!

  4. Scooterdad October 15, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Oh brother…..

Leave a Reply

