What makes a person a dick?

14 Oct

Scoundrels, last night I was told that I’m a dick.

Me. A dick. And that the things I do, are dickish.

image courtsey of themawmaw.blogspot.com

My boyfriend said this after I told him about how I dropped the hammer on an inconsiderate co-worker for leaving his dirty dishes in the office sink overnight with no intention of coming to work the next day.

Did I think it was dickish to take those dishes out of the sink and put them on said co-worker’s desk? Absolutely not.

Passive-aggressive? Possibly. Confrontational? You bet your hind end. Dickish? NO!

What was dickish, was leaving dirty dishes in the sink for other people to deal with. That’s dickish.

We all have that co-worker who treats the office like his or her home and makes it miserable for others. The one that needs to be reminded to be considerate to those around them in communal spaces. The one that drives you crazy.

So I asked dear boyfriend (I love him, by the way), how is it that I’m a dick for calling someone out on B.S. behavior like that?

He says that I could have been more polite in my approach.

I say eff that noise. I’m not that co-worker’s maid. And it wasn’t an isolated incident.

Scoundrels, am I dick? Did I need to be more polite in my approach to someone with no consideration for others?  What would have you done?

 

8 Responses to “What makes a person a dick?”

  1. ECD October 14, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Hell no you’re not a dick! Unless I’m one too :)
    Back in the day of roommates I used to put anything left in the common area of the house after more than two days on the roommates beds (dishes included).
    HEHE

  2. Amber October 14, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    If you’re a dick, I’m a dick.

    When I lived with my ex and our roommate, I had a similar experience. The roommate would leave the kitchen a mess and not come home for days after cooking Mexican feasts. One day I freaked out and took all of his dirty dishes and threw them in the dumpster behind our apartment building. Man, that shit felt SO GOOD. And he didn’t leave messes in the kitchen again. Mostly because he didn’t have anything to cook with or eat on, but whatever. He also sold weed, yet sucked at paying rent on time, so I’d pinch eighths from his stash a few times a week and sell them to my friends.

    Yep, I’m a dick. WE are dicks. Rock on with your dickish self, sister.

  3. botheredpocket October 14, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    “I say eff that noise.”

    This.

    There’s only one dick in the situation, and it ain’t you.

  4. Jennifer October 14, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Dick math: Dick move 1 (leaving the dishes) = uberdick. Dick move 2 (placement of dishes on desk) = minordick. Uberdick/Minordick = coworker is still a dick. Your actions have been absolved. Done.

  5. Ken October 14, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    See, I agree that it was a diskish thing to do. But merely reciprocating diskish behavior does not make one a dick. It’s like self-defense.

    Leaving a polite note is for unintentional actions. A polite note says, “hey, you probably didn’t do this intentionally.” But if the offending action is intentional, you’re telling them what they already know! That just wastes everyone’s time.

    The only exception would be is if he believes the office’s cleaning staff are paid to clean dishes, which unless you have one heck of a Class Five office, they are not. But who assumes that??

  6. Joe Mama October 14, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Sport, that’s not a dick move.

    Dickishness, in my opinion, is defined as having no consideration for anyone else and treating everyone/everything like it’s there for you and you alone. Because he left his dishes in the sink like someone was going to do them for him, Mr. “I Don’t Wash Dishes” is a dick.

    You’re not a dick for pointing out that he’s a dick. Plus you have some consideration for your co-workers that also have to deal with his dickish behavior.

  7. April October 14, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    You are so not a dick. I am so tired of people calling other people on their crap being called “mean” or a dick.

    Last night I had my own issues with the sink and dishes. The BF finished his dinner and there is a completely empty sink, so where does he put the dishes? On the counter. Of course he never does dishes, so this has no importance to him at all. In fact, he think that since I am the dish washer it’s my job to go around and collect all dishes daily. Screw that!

  8. TheBoo October 25, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Benefit of the doubt? Yeah, ask once. If that one request goes ignored, load the dishes on the wanker’s chair, not in the dishwasher.

Leave a Reply

