Please pay, and slip the envelope under gate

5 Oct

Parking in the city is a bitch. You city dwellers know what I mean, and Saturday night was no different for me. I came home in a rush to get to the loo, and of course, I’d already lapped 13 blocks TWICE trying to find a parking spot. So I settled on one off of the alley. Boy, was this a mistake. And here, all this time, I thought the Denver Department of Parking Something-or-Another was the pain in my ass I can’t rid. They have help!

The above photo is the parking space in question. It is two buildings down from me. So I guess one can say the residents are my neighbors. Neighbors! Psh, neighbors. Whatever…the photo below is of the signs posted on the fence that was in front of my car when I pulled in. Yes. I read them. Yes. I was in violation. Yes. They could have had me towed. They didn’t .

Instead, I walked out to my car and found they’d addressed an envelope (below) to me and left it on my windshield. I forgot a ‘yes’. Yes. I was parked there for 2 days without moving my car.

My first inclination was, “Oh, hell naw,” and immediately, I said to myself, “You were parked here for two days, you jerk.” Then, I became amazingly calm and confused, at the same time, about the situation. I wanted to know why it was such an issue. I don’t park there on a regular basis. In fact, I’ve only parked there one other time, and it was because I had to run into my place quickly to grab my wallet. But what’s the issue? No one, I mean no one, ever parks there. It’s not an emergency lane or anything of the sorts.

I’m saying all of this because I need your input. When I was in my 20s, I would have told the neighbor to piss off. Seriously! I would have written piss off and slipped the envelope under the gate, but now in my 30s, I actually considered placing $20 in the envelope and writing and apology.

Scoundrels, what should I do? Should I ignore the note and be sure to never park there again? Should I do as they asked and fork over the $20? Or, should I leave them my love note (Roses are red. Violets are blue . Jump off a bridge. With <3)and forever sour a relationship that never really existed?

9 Responses to “Please pay, and slip the envelope under gate”

  1. Dulce October 5, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Obviously the envelope is from someone in the hood. If you don’t want a vengeful neighbor looking for a chance to get your car ticketed or towed, I would just pay the $20. It said parking was for residents only and you ignored it. All in all, $20 is not to bad for a parking ticket in this city.

  2. Becky October 5, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Here’s what I think: Pay the $20. You know better than to park there, the signage is pretty clear, and the $20.00 is considerably less than having them tow your ass.
    There’s a chance that if you do the nice thing (read: right thing), they might be less grumped about letting you park there in the future.

    Just sayin’.

    Becky
    xx

  3. Dustinvan October 5, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    In my opinion, it sounds like you’ve stumbled upon something that might be a great find.

    You say no one ever parks there? They have signs stating that no one CAN park there (without a small fee)?

    Let me tell you how much I understand your pain re: finding parking in Cap Hill. I understand.

    So here’s what I would do: Put $20 in the envelope and slip it under the gate. With a note. Ask them if you can rent the parking space from them. Low-ball the offer… Something like “I’ll pay you $20 a month if I can use this space as my own,” or something to that effect. Leave your phone number or email address and see what happens. If they bite, you have yourself a kickass parking spot in a neighborhood that has zero parking. If not, you spent $20 rather than the hundreds + headaches they could have laid on you if they had towed it.

    At my ripe old age of 30-many, I’m more inclined to go with the good karma option and try to turn the whole situation into a win-win.

  4. Rick Ramos October 5, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    I say split the difference and give the joker $10 and a thank you note.

  5. Charli October 5, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I say pay it and see if you can set something up with them. Guaranteed parking is a sweet deal!

    • wittywife October 5, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

      I agree. I would definitely pay. I’m not sure which city you’re in, but I can imagine NOT paying could lead to slashed tires/broken windows / bad feelings in the future.

      And like most of the folks above said, make a deal for future parking.

  6. Psykome October 5, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    I would pay em and see if ya could swing a deal. That sure beats havin them be parking nazi’s next time.

  7. Irant October 5, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Ummmm – how do you know the note is from the owner or his/her representative? Throw $20 bucks in and slide it under the gate? How about you slip in $100 and slide it under my front door?

    Seriously – put a note in the envelope asking if you can bring the $20 over in person, with a contact number. If it’s legit and they care? $20 for 2 days parking is a deal in the city. If they don’t care that much, or it’s not legit, you can spend the $20 buying me drinks.

    K

  8. vaguelycool October 6, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Hmmmm. Make sure you tell them that you’re not coming over to kill them. Good idea. Actually, I admire their moxie.

Leave a Reply

