Guest Post: Office Politics

10 Sep

By Kelly Tidd
Blogger for Gum In My Hair

When I was in my early twenties, I was working some weird retail job. I told myself, “Yeah, just wait. Just wait until I get my degree, then you suckers can kiss my ass, I’m cubicle-bound!”

So I graduated (albeit a little late) and I got myself a fancy office job. With a cubicle and everything.

Actually, I got myself a cushy little job working at a start up. You know, all that awesome  “young, urban adults having fun and making a business together, but we still totally shoot Nerf guns” stuff? That was me. I started working at this business with my own laptop sitting on a cheap rolling chair from Target that pulled into a folding table.

Three years later, the company had grown 100% each year.

And with each year, the company’s size grew. And with each year, I grew less and less enchanted with my job.

As the company grew, office politics started to take over. Brown nosers were promoted. “Slackers” (or those that didn’t really involve themselves in management reindeer games) were left in the dust or fired.

I was in management for a while. I played the games. But about a year ago, I had enough. I stopped playing games. I decided I wanted to do what I love, not play around with managers that didn’t know how to manage. I wanted to write. I stopped kissing ass.

As a result, I was demoted from management. I was ok with that. Then I was demoted from writer. I was not ok with that.

Then I was quit/fired (read: “please fire me so I can collect unemployment”).

New job. Same games.

And I still don’t care. I just want to write. I just sit there and do what I do. And still I become a part of these weird office politics that involve pissing contests about who’s doing what and how well. I’m beginning to think I will never be able to get ahead in my career without cutting a couple Achilles tendons along the way.

Tell me, Scoundrels, is there a way to avoid office politics and still get what you want out of a career?

10 Responses to “Guest Post: Office Politics”

  1. Randy Pena September 10, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    I’ve been reading along for a while now. I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work.

    • theVar September 10, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      Thank you, Randy. We certainly will, and you keep coming back, ya hear! ;)

  2. Brooke September 10, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    One word: NO. Office politics = a vicious circle of gremlins fiercely quarreling over who can most effectively wreck your playground. The games will continue no matter how you choose to deal with them.

    • theVar September 10, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

      Brooke, do you think there is some possible way to thwart the gremlins. Those buggers get on my nerves. Seriously, I struggle with this constantly and continue to hold out hope that one day I’ll find a happy balance.

  3. D.T. Pennington September 10, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    I haven’t worked an office in nearly three years. Can’t say I miss it.

  4. Lady Crush September 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Easy. Start your own business. Be the President of your own office party system.

  5. Kelly September 11, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I would say in order to escape the office politics you will have to work for yourself. Sad but true. :(

  6. enyabiznass September 11, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    The key to avoiding office politics is to making it so they actually don’t want you to leave because that would be a bigger pain in the ass for everyone else. Then, you can get away with doing what you want. For the most part.

    I am currently testing this theory.

  7. Vaguelycool September 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    I just ignore all those fuckers and do a great job, take my paycheck and go home.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prolific « Gum in My Hair - September 10, 2010

    […] here, a couple things on typetrigger and a few guest posts. Today, I have a guest post over at Talk Thirty to Me about office politics that I’m pleased with. And earlier this week, Unseen Denver […]

Leave a Reply

