The Unexpected

2 Sep

Sometimes life throws you a curve ball.

If there has been anything I’ve ever learned in life so far, is that the expected rarely ever happens. So why is it the unexpected is so shocking? When things just don’t go as planned, why is it that the thing that seems to be the deviation is so – well – unexpected?

I’m sure we’ve all experienced it. One day you have a job, the next you find yourself on the hunt. One day you’re in a relationship and very happy and the next thing you know, you’re single.

Today I’m wondering how you deal with the unexpected. How do you react when the other shoe finally drops?

7 Responses to “The Unexpected”

  1. Dulce September 2, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    You know, I’m a roll with the punches kind of gal. But the universe likes to throw me a lot of curveballs all at once. I’m going to say more than 3 unexpecteds at once and I freak out a little.

    But history helps me calm down a lot. I mean, I’m 30. I’ve through a lot of crazy curveballs, scares and unknowns. And you know what? I’m still here, and relatively sane! So I know it will eventually all work out for the best as long as I don’t let it get the best of me.

  2. Erika Napoletano September 2, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I take a big swig of that lemonade I made when life sent me lemons, pucker up and say WOW! This is awesome! Even though it’s usually not and I feel like Lindsay Lohan’s got more support than I do.

  3. Garry Polamteer September 2, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    When life gives me lemons, I throw them at stuff and watch them explode! Then laugh about it and say “Bring it on sukka!”.

    Garry

  4. botheredpocket September 2, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Having been through one divorce and gone through numerous contractor job gaps, my main defence is to put the shell up and enjoy whatever’s low maintenance; watching football, playing video games, that sort of thing. Basically I turtle up, reorganise my priorities and don’t forget to still do whatever’s fun. Large groups of friends and a support network are great, but I’m best left alone, with a good person’s phone number if needed, when things get particularly dire.

  5. Lady Crush September 2, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Wow, you all seem to roll with punches way better than I do. I don’t make lemonade. I just pile up the lemons and think, “shit, I’m three short of a proper centerpiece.”

    I dislike the unexpected. I am trying harder to go with the flow lately, as part of my Better Living Through CALMTHEFUCKDOWN Campaign. Yeah, I had to create a structured campaign to better cope with life changes and other barrels of monkeys.

    Didn’t you know? Type-A is short for Type-Amy

  6. gleave insurance September 24, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Great writing! You should definitely follow up on this topic!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Unexpected « Talk Thirty To Me -- Topsy.com - September 2, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by RedheadWriting, Talk Thirty To Me. Talk Thirty To Me said: The Unexpected http://wp.me/pVpJi-ka […]

Leave a Reply

