Alco-who?

16 Aug

Shut up! You do it, too.

[tweetmeme source=”talkthirtytome” only_single=false]

Let’s just start by saying Holy Fuck!!!! I can’t party like I use to. Sunday’s should really be my sabbath. When I was in my 20s 8 day benders were a walk in the park.  Now, in my30s, a Sunday of boozing, pooling,and bar hopping turns my Monday upside-down. Seriously, I’m hurting right now.

I had a conversation with an acquaintance the other day and she told me that her 40+ beau drinks 5 or more nights a week. I thought this was a bit excessive, especially considering his age and the fact that he’s a professional. When is drinking too much? At what point can you be classified as an alcoholic?

Why can’t I be more like Sport?  She went on a sensible weekend adventure: camping. (TreeHugger)

3 Responses to “Alco-who?”

  1. Irant August 16, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I was never a big drinker, but did indulge quite a bit in college and my 20s. Dropped off a lot in my 30s. These days? I figure if I drink heavily more than once every 10 years or so, that’s tooooo much.

    I am, though, the maestro of nursing a beer …

    K

  2. Charli August 16, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    My drinking has continued to increase as I’ve gotten older. I drink almost every night and have a few day time drinks throughout the week. However, I only really indulge once or twice a year.

    I believe “social drinker” is classified as someone who has 3 beverages a night. What’s interesting about that is 3 drink/night on a regular basis can still cause liver damage. I’m a little more than a “social drinker.” I guess drinking alone in my pajamas by the light of the TV screen isn’t too social.

    So when is drinking too much? When you start to sacrifice the important things in life in favor of alcohol.

  3. Lady Crush August 16, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    A friend of mine in his early-mid thirties told me just the other day that he fears over-drinking now because hangovers get more brutal as you age. His hangovers went from “lulz I drank too much now I have a headache” to “HOLY FUCK WHAT HAVE I DONE WITH MY LIFE?” seemingly overnight. I dread that day. But I’ve still got 7 months til the big 3-0, so bottoms up!

Leave a Reply

