Imma ’bout to own this weekend (question mark)

31 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”talkthirtytome” only_single=false]

By theVar
Blogger of StraightenMyTie

I woke up this morning with a renewed sense of purpose. What purpose you ask? How am I suppose to know. That’s why I’m coming to you.  Everyone seems to have these fab lives on the weekends. And me, I’m just sitting around playing with the dog, writing, watching tv, taking walks. You know. Boring stuff. When what I really want is to be a Weekend Warrior.

I want to start taking Denver–and the world for that matter–by storm on the weekends.  I’m at that time in my life when I should be owning this shit. I’m not talking about over-the-top, impressive bucket list. I want to do those things, or something like that, too, but let’s start small first. The problem is I can’t gauge small because I don’t have any idea of where to start.

So I’m turning to you Scoundrels.  How do you live as Weekend Warriors in your 30s? What are some things I can do to become that awesomesauce, god-like, Weekend Warrior I want to be?

5 Responses to “Imma ’bout to own this weekend (question mark)”

  1. girlwithglasses July 31, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    as a mother, i spend about half my weekend dedicated to the pursuits of very small children. this can be mind-numbingly boring at times, sir, you haven’t lived until you’ve watched 4 year olds play soccer. it’s like a circus. simple pleasures.

  2. CityOLove July 31, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    The key is to make sure you own “it”, and it doesn’t own you. Far too many times I would start the weekend with a silly phrase of…”I’ll have a few cocktails” only to piss away the entire Saturday, and then pay for it all day Sunday. Then it’s Monday morning, and you’re like “Hey, where did my weekend go”?

    Plan ahead, decide on Monday or Tuesday what you would love to do, if you weren’t at work. That should begin a pretty good list, then work off that.

  3. Chinky July 31, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    It’s usually either hiking with a couple friends and a gigantic group of strangers or sailing. I’d recommend joining an outdoors club if you’re into that or getting membership to your local museum. And if all else fails, I still have the gym and swimming pool waiting for me.

  4. Party Girl August 2, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Well Dah-ling then join me for a few of the things that I have planned…they might be bucktlist-ish – but they will most CERTAINLY be fun – Zip Lining. I’m thinking next weekend. I’ll email you the link. I’m also thinking smaller scale – you need a trip to Boyztown. I’ll get the girls gathered up…i’ve never been so drunk or had so much fun ever. :-) I’m kinda sad you didn’t ask me…even though I WAS camping (I know GASP) Your Party Girl went CAMPING…anyway…call dah-ling. Lets take this damned town by storm and turn it upside down. I’m good at that.
    PG.

  5. enyabiznass August 2, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I would not suggest doing what I did this weekend, which was to head up to the mountains and then proceed to drink far too much while talking to Sinn Dixie until 4am. Seemed great at the time. But I’m getting too old for this sh*t. :)

Leave a Reply

