One for the WTF files

22 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”talkthirtytome” only_single=false]

By Sara Downey

Blogger for meanest look

Did you know only white men read The Nest?

WTF is The Nest, you ask? It’s the magazine that The Kn*t* sends to you after they think you’re married.

WTF is The Kn*t? A magazine for wedding planning and brides.

Now that we know what they are, how did I get my hands on one? They actually mailed it to me. Mmmmkay. Someone didn’t bother to read my exit survey.

Normally, I wouldn’t care. I would have just recycled it without a second thought, but the magazine was really quite attractive so I decided to flip through some pages.

Mind you, this magazine is basically a guideline or “helpful” resource for young married couples. Apparently young, attractive married couples in their 20s and 30s.

The one that really got me though was an article about how to – and I’m not kidding you on this one- look good in shorts.

Yeah, a magazine for young married couples talks about how to look good in shorts.

Dude, if you don’t already know how to wear shorts, then I’m not sure you should be married. It’s pretty simple. You just wear them. Your style is your own.

Ha! So I thought, the subtle hidden message of the article was how to look good as a Kn*ttie/ Nestie white dude or lady in shorts.

You may be thinking right now, Sport, you’re an idiot.

You see, one of the pieces of the article was advice for men on what sort of footwear to rock. Sneakers of course, according to the fashion gurus at the Nest. Why? Because flip flops would show off a man’s pale feet.

Pale feet.

I know I’m taking certain liberties here, but the only dudes I know with pale feet are white dudes. Therefore, I’m assuming that the target is white dudes.

Hey Var, you feeling a bit left out? I’ve seen your tootsies. Pale is not a word I’d use to describe them.

This seems to be one for the WTF files. I’m not sure exactly why this got me so worked up. Working in the publishing industry, I can’t imagine being so non-inclusive in such an overt way.

Subtle or overt, whatever. It just made me realize how important our little community is here. Not to toot our own horn, but I don’t think we’d ever give you advice that was racially biased. I understand writing from your own experience, but come on! Maybe they need a little diversification of their staff.

Scoundrels, are there small things that the older you get just really get under your skin? When you notice yourself as sooo not a part of a world, do you strive to understand it better or look at and magnify the differences like me? Hey, were not perfect, and I want to know how this works for you.

*Yes, The Kn*t is a bad word in my circles. Deal with it.

7 Responses to “One for the WTF files”

  1. Becky July 22, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    As much as I struggle to understand the things that perplex me, I think it’s important to acknowledge the differences and be critical of them to maintain perspective.

    That being said…this world is crazy complicated and the curve balls keep a-coming…
    Talking about it is the only way of being able to navigate and I think this blog is one of the best places for a dialogue to take place.

    Even better when we can have the dialogue while drinking prosecco in a public place together.

    Becky
    xx

    • Sport July 22, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      I fear that I’m on my way to becoming a crotchety, close-minded jerk. Can it be as simple as dialogue? Cause I love to talk. I love to hear other people’s ideas.

      I feel unenlightened. I don’t like the way that some things make me feel and I bitch about them. Have I already missed the high road or am I still just struggling with the navigation?

      Now I see where GPS could be helpful. :)

  2. roughit July 22, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    this made me laugh out loud. i am so happy i found your blog tonight.

    • Sport July 22, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

      Of course a fellow derby girl would get my humor. Thank you for reading! <3

      • Meg July 28, 2010 at 8:32 am #

        Very funny post! Glad I found your blog via Twitterlandia. Good eye for spotting the subtle racial bias, but that’s marketing for ya!. I guess The Kn*t has done their market research and determined the audience for their advertisers are white married guys. I wonder if the What White People Like blog knows about The Nest and The Kn*t?

  3. BoostGear.com July 28, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I LOOK GOOD IN SHORTS!

    Oh wait, nevermind.

    Great read, love the sarcasm.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention One for the WTF files « Talk Thirty To Me -- Topsy.com - July 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amber, Talk Thirty To Me. Talk Thirty To Me said: One for the WTF files http://wp.me/pVpJi-el […]

Leave a Reply

