You down with philanthropy, yeah you know me!

20 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”talkthirtytome” only_single=false]

Cheesy. I know. Bite me. Now to the convo at hand–philanthropy in your 30s. Last weekend I attended Taste of the Nation. I have to say this is an event of Gastronomical proportions.  I’m talking 30+ of Denver’s hottest eateries, distilleries, breweries, and so much more. I truly got my nom nom on. I dropped a ton of money. Not that I wouldn’t normally, but this was an event that I didn’t mind getting behind (keep the jokes to yourself). All of the proceeds from this event goes towards anti-hunger–a valiant attempt to make sure no kid in America grows up hungry.

Over here at TTTM, community is intertwined into every thread of our beings. I don’t know about you Scoundrels, but the older I get the more I want to give back. I quite often think that (financially speaking) I’m not that fortunate. What? I can digress, too. Geesh. Give a guy a break. Nonetheless, when I stop and think about all of the micro-communities surrounding me on a daily basis that have so much less and without people/organizations like Share Our Strength, like volunteers, like you, like me, these communities wouldn’t stand a a snowballs chance in hell. This makes me snap back to the reality that I can help. I can be apart of something bigger than myself and really make a difference.

What are your stories of philanthropy in your 30s? Now that you’re older and wiser is the urge to give back stronger than ever? Share your stories with us. Let’s get this community out into the community.

One Response to “You down with philanthropy, yeah you know me!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention You down with philanthropy, yeah you know me! « Talk Thirty To Me -- Topsy.com - July 20, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Talk Thirty To Me, Talk Thirty To Me. Talk Thirty To Me said: You down philanthropy, yeah you know me!: http://wp.me/pVpJi-em […]

Leave a Reply

