From the Broke Files: My Top 10 List

14 Jul

Sport posted From the Broke Files a couple of weeks ago and it got me to thinking, mostly about how I’m financially poor, yet so socially rich. I’ve decided to share my top 10 list of socially rich activities that have sort of nudged themselves into my newfound 30s lifestyle.

  1. Going to a baseball game in the rain, eating hot dogs, and sharing a drink with a friend. (Free tickets, btw.)
  2. Impromtu photos shoots with photog friends in the park.
  3. Evening bike rides down the river front.
  4. Taco Tuesdays ($1 Tacos – In your face! Or, my face in this case.)
  5. Happy Hour with the TTTM Community.
  6. Thrift shoppping.  (I’m still learning how to do this. I’m queer. We like to shop. We’ll have more about this in a later post. Stay tuned!)
  7. Picnics and a game of bean bags in the park. *sigh*
  8. Volunteering. Project Angel Heart comes to mind.
  9. Ooooo, brainstorm sessions.
  10. Potluck brunches rooftop. Nom. Nom. Nom.

You see, there is so much that can be done without spending a lot of $$$. And, you betta believe, I’m going to live it up. I guess these are the joys of growing up and becoming comfortable with being yourself. Thank you, 30s.

9 Responses to “From the Broke Files: My Top 10 List”

  1. enyabiznass July 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Sounds like you’re having some fun, mister.

    • theVar July 14, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

      enyabiznass, the fun gets better everyday. i didn’t even know that was possible. :)

  2. Grant July 14, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Board games. Some are more portable (park, bar, etc.) than others.

    • theVar July 14, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      Board games check! Good call, Grant. Board games always fall off my radar.

  3. pharmacy tech July 25, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    nice post. thanks.

  4. pharmacy tech July 31, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    Great site. A lot of useful information here. I’m sending it to some friends!

    • theVar August 2, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

      Thanks, pharmacy tech.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention From the Broke Files: My Top 10 List « Talk Thirty To Me -- Topsy.com - July 14, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by VolleyballTribe, Talk Thirty To Me. Talk Thirty To Me said: From the Broke Files: My Top 10 List: http://wp.me/pVpJi-cy […]

  2. Talk Thirty to Me: Kinda Dirty, Really Awesome (an Interview) | Erika Napoletano is Redhead Writing - August 5, 2010

    […] a snicker and a “awwww, you’re not the only one who’s broke” hug. theVar even penned a cool list of things to do out on the town when your debit card ain’t gonna debit anything. Check it. Just go to the site and do a search […]

Leave a Reply

