Guest Post: 30 Saves the day!

6 Jul

The thing about growing up is that, it sucks. Sure, there is a time in your life when you look forward to it and actually hone a certain excitement for the coming years. When you are 10 you want to be 16. When you are 16 you want to be 21. But when you are 21 you want to know what the hell happens next?

I have spent a large part of my 20s dreading the future. The uncertainty and lack of control I have over life has really put a damper on my fun parade. My biggest fear is that the rest of my life will be this. This anxious worry, this inability to enjoy small moments because I’m thinking about the future. I keep telling myself to hold on.

Wait ’til I’m 30, things will be easier then.

After reading Kelly Tidd’s, Facing The Unknown I gained a sliver of hope, maybe this thought isn’t a lie.

What do I do for the next four years then? I feel very alone when I think about my situation. I often find myself quite overwhelmed by my imagination and want to hear more from previous or current twenty somethings that they were/are just as anxious, just as worried about the rest of their lives.

I want to hear that they too, have put 30 on a pedestal because it is possibly the hero in a cape that can save them from themselves.

–Maureen

2 Responses to “Guest Post: 30 Saves the day!”

  1. enyabiznass July 6, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Thirty was the best birthday I’d ever had. Aside from the long weekend in Vegas with 11 friends from all over and the two parties at home, it was the birthday I’d looked forward to since about 24. My twenties were rough. All kinds of ups and downs. The ups were amazing. The downs were, well, really bad. I heard for years that when you’re 30, things get better. You’re more comfortable with yourself. You can make better choices because you know yourself better.

    For me that was true. I may have actually made my twenties more difficult for myself because I thought things couldn’t get better until I was 30. Life is what you make of it. Thirty was an amazing birthday, and although life is still hard (as it is for everyone), it’s definitely become more manageable and much more enjoyable. For me, anyway.

  2. Dulce July 7, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Here’s the thing that I learned when I switched into the third decade of life: relax and learn to take what comes in stride. Remember that even the negative things that happen can teach you a lesson or perhaps lead to other new and good opportunities. Personally, I wish I had known that piece of information when I was in my 20s as well.

Leave a Reply

