Guest Post: Facing the Unknown

30 Jun

By Kelly Tidd
Blogger for Gum In My Hair

In the last three months I have had a relationship end, moved to a new place and been quitfired (a term I like to use when the company you work for mercifully fires you because you can’t afford to quit). So here I am, 31, single, unemployed and living out of boxes.

Mmmmm brothels

And I am happier than a sailor in a buy-one-get-one-free brothel.

My life has basically hit a giant reset button at a time where the unknown does not terrify me as much as it used to. When I was in my twenties, the thought of not knowing what was going to h

appen next in my life was pretty scary and I did a lot of things to make sure that I had control of my life and always knew what my next move was going to be.

But as my thirties approached, I began to realize that perhaps the unknown wasn’t as frightening as I thought, considering that the whole life that I had planned out for myself had pretty much become a prison.

The first step I took into the unknown was a divorce. I had spent seven years with the same man (I know in the grand scheme of things, it’s not that long, but trust me, it felt like an eternity) and the last two years were spent living with a person whom I grew to dislike more with every passing day. But because I knew what the next day held, I was reluctant to escape something that was slowly killing any enjoyment I had for life.

With a little help from several factors, one huge one being roller derby, I began to see that perhaps the unknown future isn’t so scary. So I took the plunge, packed a suitcase

Thanks, Mom!

and lived on an air mattress in my mom’s basement for a month until, lo and behold, things worked out in my favor and I was able to find a place to live on short notice with a friend’s brother.

So, there it was. Sometimes, when you jump into the unknown, the universe will provide for you.

Over the past several years since that first foray into the unknown, I’ve come to realize that I actually prefer living a life that is not planned out and I love not knowing what will come next.

So when I had another relationship end recently, was I sad? Sure. Was I scared? No. When I got fired from my job in the same week I was moving to a new place, was I scared? Not one bit.

I look at all of these unknowns as opportunities. An opportunity to be with friends and family and discover what else the world of romance has to offer me. An opportunity to reevaluate what it is I truly want to spend the rest of my life doing in order to make money. An opportunity for unlimited time to explore my new neighborhood and enjoy being outdoors in the summer.

So with an open mind, I am approaching the coming months and years with an excitement for the curveballs that may be thrown at me and for the unknown results that they may bring.

Leave a Reply

