But what if she ain’t having it?

28 Jun

By theVar
Blogger of StraightenMyTie

Sport,

I was chatting with a male friend the other day about your article From the Broke Files.  He was really picking up what you were putting down…until!  You see, he stepped back and thought about how his girlfriend would be all about free day at the zoo, free day at the art museum, and all the other none-breaking-the-bank (you’re awesome by-the-way) cool and fun things you came up with until she realizes that they are all FREE.

So it got me to thinking.  She’s probably this high-maintenance, face about town, used to getting what she wants, it chick–so to speak. This girl kinda reminds me of Party Girl (the “it” girl we love).  Come to think of it, Sport, she’s not much different than yourself. You both love free shit. Just in different ways.

Now the questions I have are how should/could he deal with her? Readers, what do you think would be a feasible solution for this friend of mine? You know what would be even better.  I want to hear from Party Girl. Would the things Sport mentioned in her post make you cringe or would you welcome them with open arms?

6 Responses to “But what if she ain’t having it?”

  1. Party Girl June 28, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    …and a reply you shall get!!!
    I am a girl who likes to be treated first class. I go to Vegas and never expect to pay for 99% of my fun. That’s what those men are there for. I don’t buy drinks when I go out with the girls. There are men that will buy everything for you – if you know how to work it. Free drinks, free lunches, dinners, vacations, jewelry, clothes, corner suites in very posh hotels…I love it – who wouldn’t?!?!!? Face it gentlemen – there are men out there that let women like me take full advantage of their wallets and I will honestly admit that if you allow it, by all means I will take total advantage of you and not bat an eyelash…but I can pretty much guarantee that you will be named in my contacts list as “Sponsor” or “Spender” or “that guy that pays for stuff at (insert bar name)” and will be called ONLY when I need your credit card or your bar hookup. I address this to guys in bars – you really can’t expect anything less can you? You get a table with bottle service and you invite girls over to get trashed. To the untrained 21 year old well she’s easy pickings and will more than likely go home with you just because she’s drunk and thinks she hit the jackpot with you. With me you are the guy that has very low self esteem and there is nothing else to do with you BUT take advantage of you because it would just be stupid of me NOT to. But I’ll let you in on a little secret…If it is a guy that I REALLY like, someone worth spending time with and getting to know – I don’t care if he asks me to do a whole day of “free” stuff with him…face it – in this economy there aren’t a lot of people who have a ton of free cash to blow and the fact that he would want to spend quality time with me doing things like going to the zoo or to Jazz in the Park – well that just SPEAKS VOLUMES. Lets see…A free day at the zoo with someone of substance and quality or getting bought free drinks from some douche bag in a bar who just wants to get in my pants (well TRY to anyway). I’ll take the first ANYDAY.
    Let me give you an example. There is someone very special that I’m dating and I think one of THE best dates we ever had was walking into his apartment that was lit everywhere with candles, table set, great music playing, great wine and a home cooked meal. I couldn’t have imagined anything more perfect.
    Gentlemen – if she’s into you – it won’t matter that where you are going is free. What matters is that you are there to smile at us, to hold our hand, to share an experience!!!
    When you really enjoy that someone that you are spending time with its the QUALITY of time that you spend with them. You can’t put a price on an amazing date, an amazing memory that makes you smile to yourself when you think about it. Quite frankly I’ve accepted free plane tickets from someone I don’t care about at all – how great would it be to have a whole day of free things to do with someone you actually CARE about??? Absofuckinlutely amazing in my book.

  2. Sport June 28, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I agree, Party Girl! The greatest thing a guy you care about can do doesn’t cost a thing. That thing? Spending time with you. Awww, tender.

    • enyabiznass June 29, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      This makes me think of the 5 Love Languages thing. Of which I can never remember all. I think they are: gifts, words, time, touch, and something else. Anyway, I and everyone else assumed that I would be a words person. Nope. I am a time person. Which is why it probably never have worked out with that gift guy who didn’t like to spend time…

  3. Dulce June 28, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    Here! Here! I echo the sentiment from both Party Girl and Sport!

  4. Shureka June 29, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Yes, Party Girl has it totally right – If we like you, its the quality of the time and the date not the $$$

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Talk Thirty to Me: Kinda Dirty, Really Awesome (an Interview) | Erika Napoletano is Redhead Writing - August 19, 2010

    […] In Unison: Pass! Sport: See June 28th, But What if She Ain’t Having It. […]

Leave a Reply

