Broke, busted or just fine- Finances in your 30s

17 Jun

Over here at TTTM, we’re all about breaking down the walls and tackling taboo subjects head on.

We’re not necessarily wanting to know about your particular financial situation, but rather the things you’ve learned about money and finance in your 30s.

I caught this article today and was wondering how much of this stuff holds true for everyone. Having just entered my 30s, I can see that I’ve got a long way to go on some of the suggestions, but other just seem like common sense.

The 30s seem like a defining decade in personal finance as it looks toward the future in a serious way while balancing current lifestyle choices in an uncertain economy.

What have you learned? Have you struck a balance?

4 Responses to “Broke, busted or just fine- Finances in your 30s”

  1. Dulce June 17, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    That list made me want to vomit. All of those things listed make me feel old. Here’s the fact of the matter: I’m 31 and I am now unemployed, I have $50,000 in student loan debt that is currently being deferred for the umpteenth time, I don’t own a home, I don’t even have a car and I’m trying to sell my bike.

    And I am happier than a pig in shit. I love my debt-ridden, broke-ass, kroger brand food eating life right now. All of those thing listed in the article would just tie me down and make me feel trapped. For me, my thirties should be about feeling free and being happy.

    • sassafrass June 17, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      Amen, Dulce!

  2. big daddy kane June 18, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Don’t get married. I was on track to be on a sailboat in the Carribean by 37. Now it’s child support and lawyers till I’m 56.

  3. snickers June 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    The trick is to not get paid but to stay paid.

Leave a Reply

