The Other Side

18 May

*big eyes*

Holy fuck. I turn 30 in exactly 27 days.

Isn’t there a movie about zombies and 27 days? Pretty sure there is. No, that’s 28 days. Great, the zombie apocalypse is already upon me, but I digress.

It may take a boatload of Xanax to get me through the next 27 days. Or maybe I’m just overreacting.

I’ve heard that for the ladies, turning 30 is an emotional birthday. All sorts of questions about marriage, babies, 401ks, and grand life plans come up. And I can tell you right now, I don’t exactly have definitive answers to those questions right now.

Maybe in the next 27 days it’ll all become clear. But I doubt it.

How about you? What was it like hitting the big 3-0? Was it the precursor to that impending mid-life crisis? Or was it really no big deal?

6 Responses to “The Other Side”

  1. theVar May 18, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Embrace the leap, and go for it. Guns blazing. Besides, aren’t you happy to be getting closer to Cougar?

  2. enyabiznass May 18, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Thirty was the best birthday ever. I had looked forward to being thirty since I was about 23, I think. My twenties were hard. Really manic depressive. Really insecure. And I some how got it into my head that turning 30 would change everything. It probably did just because I decided it would.

    Anyway, I ENJOYED that birthday. I went to Vegas with 11 friends who’d been involved in different parts of my life. They got along! We had fun. I spent 5 hours at a pool for the first time ever. It was awesome. I came back and had another small party. FUN! I had a celebration with my family. FUN! Three weeks of celebrating was awesome.

    And although I wouldn’t say things have been perfect, I’ll take my thirties over my twenties any day. I think I had my major crisis when I turned 25…

  3. Ms. Backlash May 18, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    30 wasn’t so bad for me. I was finally comfortable in my own skin and had the money and energy to do what I pleased with my spare time. However, 32 was painful (that was the birthday after Thistle was born).

    It’s all how you look at it. And hell girl, you know you are fabulous – smart, gorgeous and a bonafide smart ass (my favorite trait in a gal!) Enjoy, enjoy! And at any time leading up to and on the big day I’ll be happy to supply the vodka or poison of your choosing. :)

  4. Lady Crush May 18, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    I’m mostly dreading my 30th birthday (10 months to go). It’s not because I’m upset about getting older or the fact that I’m running out of eggs, or that I really have no idea yet what I want to be when I grow up. I’m just so worried about the accuracy my twitter handle. Am I going to have to change it to “womanasaurus_rex”? That’s such a fucking stupid name. I can be a girl for a little longer, right?

    • Marcelo May 18, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

      you won’t have to be “womanassaaurus_rex until your 40s…

  5. Kelly May 18, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I la la la la la LOVE 30. I was quite ambivalent about the actual birthday itself, but, man, am I glad to be out of that shitty ass decade that starts with a two and rhymes with plenty.

Leave a Reply

